「私は無限の可能性のある未来を捨てた」I said goodbye to my infinite potential

『四月は君の嘘』というアニメを見ました。音大を卒業したから音楽のことはもちろん、痛い過去の思い出を乗り越える主人公という物語がとても好きでした。主人公の有馬公正は子供の頃から母親による厳しいピアノの稽古を受け、おかげで天才的なピアニストになりました。しかし、母親の厳しさとともに病気で死んで、母の為に弾いていた有馬はそれからピアノの音を聞こえなくなってしまいました。彼は何年間もピアノを弾かずに過ごしたが、宮園かをりというヴァイオリニストに無理矢理試合のために伴奏を弾かせました。これ以上ネタバレはしないぞ!

I saw an anime called Your Lie in April. It is about music so I love that part of the story, but I also love the type of story where the main character overcomes difficult past memories. Arima Kōsei, the main character, received strict training on the piano from his mother from a young age and this made him a genious-level player. On top of his mother’s harsh instruction she was dying of some illness. Arima was playing for his mothers sake, so when she died he couldn’t hear the sound of his playing anymore. He lived for a few years barely playing the piano when violinist Miyazono Kawori forced him to play her accompaniment for a contest. No more spoilers than this though!

有馬のライバルピアニストの回想の中の一言がとても素敵だと思いました。彼女は子供のころコンサートで馬の天才的な演奏を見て、ピアニストになると決心して、若いには関わらず家に帰ったら彼女はピアニストに関係ないもの全部を捨てて、ピアノだけに集中するようになりました。「私は無限の可能性のある未来を捨てた」 アニメの中にこの一言が一番自分に有利なることだと思います。

One of Arima’s rival pianists said something marvelous during some flashback scenes. She saw Arima’s amazing performance at a concert and decided that she too would become a pianist. Even though she was young, when she got home she threw out everything that was not related to piano and decided to focus just on that alone. “I said goodbye to my infinite potential.” This is the greatest quote from the entire anime and is particularly beneficial to me.

私にとって、無限の可能性は人間が好きなことが好きなようにできるということです。無限というところが一番悩ましいことだと、私は思います。高校生だった頃から趣味の幅が広すぎて、ある意味で柔軟性があったが、得意と言えることがなかったです。ドラマ、合唱、バンド、ジョギング、トロンボーン、ギター、ピアノ、作曲、ソングライティング、などなどもありました。大きなアイス屋に行ってアイスの味が多すぎて決められないようのな問題でした。

I think that infinite potential means that humans can choose to do what they want in the way they want to do it. The “infinite” part of this is the most bothersome part, though. From the time I was in high school I had entirely too many hobbies resulting in a broad range of activities. I was flexible, sure, but I also couldn’t point to one thing and say that I was skilled. I did all sorts of things: drama, choir, band, cross country, trombone, guitar, piano, composition, songwriting… It was as if I was in a huge ice cream shop with so many flavors I couldn’t pick.

それから25歳で日本語を勉強し始めました。音楽には関係がなかったから頭はしきりして、日本語への情熱は段々上がっていて、結局日本に行ってきました。そしてたまたま音楽を気軽くやるときもあるが、もう集中しない。私は無限の可能性のある未来を捨てたから。

At 25 I began learning Japanese. Since it was not really connected to music, my head just cleared, and over time my passion for the language rose. I have lived in Japan. Sometimes I do music a bit when I get an itch but its not my focus anymore. I’ve said goodbye to my infinite potential.

Image credit

コメントを残す

