ここまで集めてきたものたち The Things I Have Collected

物を集めるのがよくある趣味ですよね。私も結構物集めれのが好きで、子供の頃から色々な物を集めたことがあります。Collecting things really seems to be a common hobby.  I too enjoy collecting and have collected a variety of things since I was a child.

ハワイ州に住んでいた時、野球カードやポーグを集めました。父とよく買い物に行く時にトップスの野球カードの1パックを買ってくれて、帰ったらすぐ開けて、専用ノートに丁寧に入れました。年をとってだんだん野球への興味が減っていて、一番大事にしたカードしか保存されませんでした。When I lived in Hawaii I enjoyed collecting Baseball Cards and Pogs.  I remember going shopping with my Dad and he would buy me a pack of Tops Baseball Cards.  As soon as I got home I would tear open the package and arrange them into a special binder.  As I aged I came to enjoy baseball less and have since eliminated most of my collection, but I still keep a few of the cooler cards.

ハワイ州にポーグは人気なものでした。知らない人もいるかもしれないのでポーグのことを説明します。ポーグはもともとアメリカのガラスミルク瓶のキャップとして使われて、紙で作られたもので、メーカーのデザインが印刷されたものです。ポーグが流行った当時、ミルク会社以外の会社もロゴやキャラをポーグにして、お客様は好きな会社のロゴのポーグを集めようとしました。私は学校でよく友達と交換したり、ゲーム(ルールは思い出せないけど)で勝負したりしました。When I lived in Hawaii pogs were quite popular.  There may be some who don’t know what pogs are so I will explain a bit.  Pogs were originally the cardboard caps of glass milk bottles with logos printed on them.  When pogs caught on companies that didn’t even sell milk started making pogs with their logos or characters on them.  Customers would then collect their favorite brands pog.  I remember trading them at school and playing games(which I don’t remember) with them.

それからは、父と同じアメリカ硬貨集め始めました。父は子供の頃から、古い硬貨を親切に集めて、幅の広い面白いコレクションを集めました。私は5セント玉に興味があって、それだけを集中しました。綺麗な価値の高い硬貨を探すのは大変だから、一年一コインのように、質に関係なく5セント玉を剃ろうとしました。根気がいる趣味なので、結局、、、しかしやったことあるのが父に感謝を思っています。After pogs I picked up coin collecting from Dad.  When he was young he started collecting old coins and built himself a rather varied and interesting collection.  I started with nickels.  I didn’t try to collect clean or valuable nickels, I simply wanted to fill the holes in my book.  This is a hobby that requires patience, so in the end…still I am thankful to dad for the experience.

コインの後は楽器でした。高校生になってから音楽家になりたかったので、馬鹿でも楽器をできるだけ買って集めました。日本に行った前、コレクションはアコースティックギター、12弦アコースティックギター、エレキギター、トロンボーン三個、ピアノ、本当に持ちすぎました!今はアコースティックギターとトロンボーンだけにしてました。After coins were instruments.  From the time I entered high school I wanted to be a musician and began buying and collecting instruments.  Before I left for Japan I had an acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, electric guitar, 3 trombones and a piano.  Way too many instruments!  Now I just have the basics: a guitar and a trombone.

それから、文房具、日本語で書いてある本・漫画などもありました。I’ve also collected school supplies, books written in Japanese, manga, etc.

最近、珍しい漢字を暗記しようとしているので、ある意味集めていると思うが、物を集めるのはちょっと休憩していると思います。Lately I have been trying to improve my memorization or rare kanji characters.  So in a way I am collecting them.  However, I am currently taking a break from collecting material things.

コメントを残す

