大人でも外国語を覚える Even Adults can Learn a Foreign Language

子供の頃から、5ヶ国語以上を流暢に話せる人のことを憧れました。何ヶ国語を自由に扱える人はすごい人ばかりだと思ったので、その能力を求めれるのはよく空想しました。アメリカの育ちなので、英語以外一番役に立つ言語はスペイン語だと無論のことでした。しかし、スペイン語の響きが気に入られなくて、高校には必修科目だったスペイン語授業をサボってしまいました。それから、ちょっとだけアメリカ手話を学びましたが、興味がなかったせいですぐ忘れました。

Ever since I was a child I have really admired people who can speak 5 languages fluently.  I used to think that those people were amazing, so I began daydreaming about becoming one of them.  Since I am was raised in America the most useful language outside of English is Spanish. However, since I never really enjoyed the sound of Spanish I put barely any effort into my two years of required high school Spanish.  After that I learned a little bit of ASL, but I forgot it as I lost interest.

十代を超えて大学を入ってたから、子供ではないから外国語を習得する能力が子供に比べたら低いなので外国語を諦めました。

I left my teens and entered college. I was sure that ability to learn a language was weaker than a child’s, so I just quit trying.

大学卒の後、キャリアのことを悩んでいて、日本に行ってしばらく英語を教えると決めました。その準備を始めましたところ、日本だから日本語が不可欠だと思っていて、それから2年間独学で勉強しました。日本に勤めた時からでもずっと勉強し続きました。いつ日本語がペラペラになったのははっきりと覚えてないけど、これからも一生日本語を改善していきたいという決心があります。

After graduation I had no direction for my career so I decided to teach English in Japan for a while.  I came to the conclusion that the Japanese language would be indispensable, so I studied it alone 2 years prior to leaving.  Even when I got to Japan, I just kept studying.  I don’t remember exactly when I became fluent, but I never want to stop improving my Japanese.

私は24歳から学習し始めたから、きっとあなたも年齢に関係なく外国語を覚えるはずと信じています。

I started learning at age 24, you too can learn a foreign language regardless of age.

2016年で、お互いに外国語の習得することを頑張りましょう!

Let’s work hard towards our language goals in 2016!

 

コメントを残す

