正座と新く買った机。Sitting on Your Feet and my New “Desk”.

日本に行った前、私は正座が苦手な人でした。アメリカ人は子供の頃から椅子に座るのが多いので、年をとったら足の柔軟さがなくなります。私の場合、足首の筋肉が伸ばさなくて正座にしたら筋肉が割くような痛みで、30秒しか我慢できませんでした。

Before I went to Japan I was terrible at sitting on my feet. Americans grow up sitting in chairs more than the floor so we naturally lose some of our youthful flexibility as we age.  In my case, at 24 I was unable to sit on my feet for more than 30 seconds because it felt like the muscles in my ankles were going to rip.

日本で正座が便利だなと思ったので日々頑張って練習しました。やっと日本で採用されて、アパートのために椅子を一個も買いませんでした。パソコンはちゃぶ台で座布団に座りました。椅子に座る日本人が少なくもないことが分かったとしても、正座をうまくなりたかったから鍛えていきました。

Still, I thought learning to sit this way would be useful in Japan so I kept practicing.  When I finally found employment in Japan I refused to buy chairs for my apartment.  I put my computer on a low table and sat on a cushion in front of it. Even when I realized that many Japanese sit in chairs regularly I kept practicing because I felt like I had some catching up to do.

アメリカに帰ってきたから椅子文化にまた慣れて、机と椅子の形に仕方なく戻りました。幸いなことに幼稚園の仕事で子供と床に座ることが多いから足首の柔軟さがあまり落ちませんでした。

When I moved back to America I started relaxing back into chair culture, sitting a chairs to use my computer.  Luckily because I work at a kindergarten around kids I always have ample chances to keep my feet flexible when I sit on the floor.

クリスマスプレゼントの一つが家具屋のギフトカードだったので、ちゃぶ台を新く買いました。アメリカには座布団は一般的に売れてないものなので犬用のクッションを買ってきました(笑)。

One of my Christmas presents this year was a gift card to a furniture store, so I bought a coffee table!  They don’t really sell floor cushions in many places so I bought…a dog bed.

外国人がアメリカでこの風に座るのは多分変だと思われるかもしれないからけれど、私は幸せです!

You might think its strange for an American in America to sit on the floor to use a computer, but hey, it makes me happy, yo!

正座と新く買った机。Sitting on Your Feet and my New “Desk”.” への4件のフィードバック

  1. Hey welcome to America! Where you can have a coffee table as a computer desk if it makes you happy. As long as you are happy it doesn’t matter how weird people think you are.

    いいね: 1人

コメントを残す

