完璧主義は夢殺しです。 Perfection: The Dream Killer

小さいだった頃から父に「お前は強烈なタイプだな」と言われました。私はいつも夢を夢中になってすぐさま全ての力を使い尽くす傾向があります。短時間にやる気満々やりすぎてしまいます。そして疲れてきたらその目標をやめることが多いです。例えば、2010年ソングライターになるという夢がありました。その夏、朝も夜も練習していて10曲も出来上がって、近所マーケットでバスキングをしたり、自分でLPも録音しました。いい道を勢いよく進んでいたのに、いきなり落ち込んでしまい、音楽をやめました。それから、真剣にギターを弾いてなかったです。

Ever since I was little my father has always described me as “intense”.  I am soon to fall in love with some dream and quickly exhaust my energies chasing after it.  For a short time I am able to use this crazy energy to get a lot done, but I usually crash and burn. For example in 2010 I decided I wanted to be a songwriter.  That summer I played guitar and sang daily, wrote 10 songs, busked at the local farmers market and even recorded a demo CD with 5 songs.  I was on a good path, but suddenly I stopped playing music.  To be honest, I haven’t really played guitar seriously ever.

振り返ってみると、そのスランプの時の辛さがよく思い出せます。「そこまでギターが好きだったのになぜやめたの」という謎は完全に解いていたわけでもないが、分かることがあります。あるオープンマイク大会で参加した時、他のソングライターたちが私より上手に演奏したから自分はダメだと思いました。あの彼女の歌詞がすこくよかったとか、彼の弾き方がすごかったとか、それに対して私のギターが湿度に負けてチューニングさえできなくて自分を恨んでいました。なぜかというと多分、私は完璧に演奏できなかったからです。それ以来、ソングライターの自信がだんだん減っていきました。最終的にやめた他の理油もあるかもしれないけど、完璧主義はその一つだと思われます。

When I think back I still remember how I felt in that slump.  I loved songwriting so much and yet quit…I don’t know all of the reasons why I did but I do know one.  During my only open mike performance I looked at the other performers and saw how they bested me: I felt I was the worst one.  One girl had cool lyrics, another guy had really intricate finger style, I couldn’t even get my guitar to tune because of the humidity and sang terribly.  I couldn’t play the perfect songs I had built in my head, so I got angry at myself.  From then on I slowly began losing my confidence.  In the end perfectionism had killed my songwriting.

2015年、日本語能力試験1級を受けました。当時、長野市に住んでいて、日本語環境のオフイスで仕事をしました。それに三ヶ月間必死に勉強していて、模擬試験も10個以上もやって、ほとんど合格しました。一生懸命だったのに、読解力が足りなかったせい落ちてしまいました。私は一発合格できなかったから、また自信がなくなって、日本語の勉強がだんだんとサボってしまいました。

In 2015 I took the Japanese Language Proficiency Test N1.  At the time I was living in Nagano city and working in a Japanese office environment.  In addition to that I studied hard for 3 months prior to the test, taking tons of practice tests and sifting through mountains of flash cards.  I passed most of my practice tests; I thought I was golden.  Yet, even though I worked so hard I failed the test because my reading comprehension was not up to snuff.  My image of passing the test on the first try was shattered and I lost confidence and instead of signing up for the next test I began slacking.

完璧主義は目標に達成するに合うようなもので、細く考えて計画の思い通りにやろうとしたら、どんな夢を願えるだろうという考え方があります。しかながら、自分の身振りや考えを完璧に操ることが不可能だと思います。自分のことを除いて考えれば、予想できなかったことも起こりますよね。オープンマイクでのチューニング問題やテストで受けたストレスなど、完璧にされなかったですね。

It may seem like perfectionism will help you reach goals, after all if you plan and prepare carefully you should be able to accomplish any goal, right?  If you think about it though, it is impossible to perfectly control even your own actions and thoughts.  Then, outside of yourself there are a host of things that could go wrong that you could never predict.  In my case, my guitar crapping out and the actual stress of taking the JLPT did me in.

夢を追っている君へ、はっきりと考えた夢より、夢に近寄る道を集中してください。塵も積もれば山となるという諺があります。夢を想いながら行動をすればきっといつかなんとかなります。

To my fellow dream chasers: my advice is to stop chasing rigid dreams and instead focus on doing things that take you closer to that dream feeling.  The Japanese say: If enough dust piles up, it will become a mountain. If you do enough small things in the direction of your dreams, they will come true!

 

コメントを残す

