中国語を使うチャンスがありました。I got a chance to speak some Chinese at work.

アルバイトで、中国語が話せるお客様を案内しました。私は新人の上、商品の位置が分かりませんでした。お店は大きい方のAEONのような大きさなので、並んでいる商品の事に詳しくなるまでは時間がかかりそうですね。

さて、先輩と一緒にお客様をテープを並べている場所まで連れて行きました。先日もいらっしゃった方で、私の顔を覚えてくれていました。お客様はスマーホをいじりながら話していました。画面をちらっと見ると、中国語でメールをしていらっしゃる事が分かりました。それで私は「请问,你会说普通话吗(すみません、北京語が話せますか)」と聞いてみました。彼女の顔が明るく、笑顔になりました。初心者レベルの私は彼女の答えが分からなくて、すぐ英語に戻りましたが、きっと強い印象を与えることができましたよね。

私は日本語の方が得意なので、日本人のお客様をご案内できればと思っています。しかしその前に、この店に関する専門用語を勉強しなければいけませんね。

At my part-time job I got a chance to help a customer who spoke Chinese.  The store I work at is as big as a department store so it will be some time before I am familiar with the locations of everything we sell.

I am a bit new, so since I don’t know where all of the products are located, I went along with a co-worker to the section the customer needed.  She had come just the day before and remembered me.  I wasn’t sure what language she spoke by her looks, but I was able to make out Mandarin Chinese as she was texting.  When I figured it out, I asked: “请问,你会说普通话吗(Do you speak Chinese)”.  She immediately smiled and answered me back in Chinese, but I couldn’t understand her very well because I am still a beginner.  Even though we changed right back to English I am glad I was able to make an impression on her.

I am much better at Japanese, so I am excited for the opportunity to meet some Japanese customers and help them in Japanese.  Before that happens I better learn how to talk about the products my store sells.

コメントを残す

